Being The Writer

One of the things we writers have to work on is confidence when it comes to sharing our work. The first time I did this was at a writing group meeting. I had just joined the year or so after I lost Lee. So personally I have to say I was lacking in my usual drive and some of that came from grief. Some of that also came from never really knowing if the writing was any good. But in the end I did read out, I was receptive to feedback and that in the end led to success.

I think the first time I had to read at the launch of my first publishing success (Making Changes, Bridge House Publishing, 2008) I was pretty scared because now there were a lot more people than in the writing group meetings. But you know, only you know how your work should really sound and therefore you know how it ought to be read.

The more successes I had, the more I was able to share and read my work until that day when my novel was launched and there was I having to read (just me in the spotlight) and in an African Amercian accent don’t ya know! Now I do enjoy reading and have done so many times and with a microphone! The more we do it, the easier it becomes. But I know one or two writers who still suffer with nerves, but they are also at the beginning of the journey and it will get better 🙂

So let me share some photos of the fab writers who read from Baubles and The Best of CafeLit at the launch in London this past Saturday… and brilliant they all were… I have not used the word brilliant for a long time I have to say!!!

 

Gallery… not in the order they read…

chris

Chris Bowles

dianne-stadhams

Dianne Stadhams

margaret-bulleyment

Margaret Bulleyment

mary-bevanMary Bevan

mike-olley

Mike Olley

paula-r-c-readman

Paula R C Readman

penny-dale

Penny Dale

photo-1

Waiting for the guests…

photo-2

Buy our books!

photo-3

Don’t be scared, Paula…

photo-4

Yvette Gyles greeting writer, Clare Weze

photo-5

What is a collection of writers called?

photo-6

Dad… with writer Elizabeth…

photo-7

Writing Tweets and sharing tips!

photo-8

Thanks to all those who came to celebrate the launch of our books!

And the theme for next time is Gliterary Tales! Opens for submissions January 1, closes March 31st

www.bridgehousepublishing.co.uk 

Also check out www.cafelit.co.uk always open for stories!

1 Comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

One response to “Being The Writer

  1. Looks a fun event. Back in Spain now and working on some poetry and maybe an extra blog post. Hope all going well.

Leave a comment