Self-publishing, why did you? Questionnaire

I just want to stay with this theme for a couple more days because I’m really interested to hear from authors out there who chose to self-publish … can you pass this onto authors you know took this route if you didn’t. Either answer on the Blog in comments or if you prefer email me writer@debzhobbs-wyatt.co.uk as I would love to know. I won’t use your names, more of a collective result on what opinions when I Blog about my findings. I am chairing a discussion on this and it would be really helpful to know what peoples’ experiences are.

Thank you 🙂

Questions

1. Why did you choose this route?

2. Was it costly?

3. Did you choose a self-publishing company or do it yourself with Kindle and/or CreateSpace? Paper book and/or eBook?

4. Were you offered or did you seek an editor? If so how helpful was that? If you didn’t, why not?

5. What did you do to promote your book?

6. How well did it sell?

7. Would you do it again that way?

8. Do you see self-publishing as a stepping stone to a career with a traditional publisher? Is this your career goal?

I really appreciate everyones’ input with this!

 

Thanks 🙂 Happy Writing.

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging, ebooks, Editing, Kindle, Literary Fiction, Mainstream Fiction, making money from writing, Novel writing, POD printers, Social networking, The Publishing Priocess

5 responses to “Self-publishing, why did you? Questionnaire

  1. littletash

    This is probably not very helpful because I haven’t self-published, but I’ve been offered an ebook contract by HarperCollins with a 50/50 split of the net profits. Knowing nothing about book contracts, I got The Society of Authors to vet the contract and their advice was basically to think about the fact that if I self-published I’d get 100% of the net profits. I’ve taken their advice on board and accept that perhaps the big publishers are offering unpublished authors not especially good contracts to minimise their own risks, but with regards to your question in the next post: yes, for me, being published by a real publisher is still the goal and means more than the extra %.

    • Thanks for your comments, that’s very interesting that Harper Collins, a big name like that offered you an eBook deal. I wonder if that’s to test the water and later publish in paper if it does well. The SOA are great, we get our contracts checked with them at Bridge House Publishing before we send them out to authors as well. I agree you get all the net profits if you self-publish to eBook but what I would say is you need to do a lot of promotion yourself and most books sell less than 200 copies this way. I wonder with a big engine behind you like Harper Collins how much they’d be pushing your book? You could make up for sharing profits by much larger sales? And perhaps the chance for them to publish you in paper format? I would talk to them about about how much they would push the book, what they would do for their 50% and if there’s a chance they will later publish in paper format? Because it might then be worth it? Thanks, this is really interesting as I didn’t know the big publishers were doing this. Out of interest how did you approach them, did you still need an agent? I will look into this more because I wonder if more of the big publishers are now doing this … thank you 🙂 Debz

      • littletash

        They approached me after I’d put some chapters up on Authonomy for a couple of weeks. HC are certainly exploring this through their Digital Imprint. I think their plan is to publish one ebook a month and hopefully take the best sellers into print. I don’t have an agent and I think that’s sort of the benefit for them: Authonomy acts as a massive digital slushpile from which they can pick and choose unrepresented authors. It has its good and bad points I think, but, like you say, there are major benefits to having a big publishing house backing and promoting you. It’s not the debut book deal I’ve laid awake dreaming of, but it’s definitely a good stepping stone. 🙂

  2. Oh I see. Yes I know some authors on that site although they did tell me there is a lot of slush, as you put it. But I ‘think’ I like the fact they are now trying this, so long as it helps new authors and they don’t take advantage. I guess it does test the water for you and while it might not be the big publishing deal we all dream about it is another validation that your work is good enough and stands out! So well done you. One other quick question (sorry to bug you) but do they appoint a professional editor because being edited by someone from a big publisher like that is what I think we would all most benefit from! And this could really help for future success. Thanks again, real food for thought 🙂

  3. Pingback: Author Blog Challenge 16: Why ebooks? | Chazz Writes

Leave a Reply

