Back & Blogging

I will be back and properly blogging next week! What a fantastic holiday we had and now happy to be back to my life and working 🙂 … oh and trying to eat healthily,  at the gym etc.!

What I loved most was the time we had to relax and I managed to read two books just for fun which is a real luxury when I have so much work. The first was a book recommended by a client called The Versions Of Us by Laura Barnett. It’s a sliding door novel with three versions of how life might have turned out. I had written something similar when experimenting with form and so I was intrigued to see how she did it. While I had to pay close attention to each version, thankfully labelled as version one, two or three, and sometimes I did think I might need to make some notes, I did really enjoy this. I do recommend it for people who like a challenge to their reading. It is well written.

The second of the novels was one purely for fun. As a teenager, I devoured Robin Cook’s medical horrors as I love anything set in a hospital. Coma really hooked me although I remember my favourite being Mindbend. Well, the weekend before the holiday Mal and I were in an indoor market that was selling books cheap and there was a Robin Cook called Host from 2015. I had to buy it but was afraid I would now find I did not like the writing! Snob or what?

Well, I did! He does head-hop and so he doesn’t give characters strong character voices, this is me the writer and editor now observing, however, the procedural elements of medical things and the way the young characters seek answers I love. In many ways, it’s a regurgitate of Coma, but was still something I enjoyed. Reading for fun only! So much so I ordered another one of his. They’re what I’d call my less literary reads but for pure escapism, they somehow captivate me, so I am thrilled now to be waiting on another before I return to something more challenging. But what this shows me is that we should never be snobs about what we read. It’s a great pleasure to read for fun and I often buy books and then feel disappointed, even books with great literary merit.

So the message is write and read what makes you happy!

I have not written this week as have had to catch up with my editing work… Isle of Pelicans is with my two trusted beta readers and I have no idea what they will make of it… not heard a peep… eek. Next week the plan is to either go back to Dotty or revisit I Am Wolf. But I am itching to be writing… or I might even think about my medical horror as I have a real urge to develop my short story Mirror Image.

Ohh so exciting!

I will be back next week with more of my morning’s musings… whatever they might be and to tell you about the event I will be reading at next Friday at The Leicester Writers Festival! Book tickets here! https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/leicester-writes-festival-tickets-35240271601

30th June: Leicester Writes Short Story Prize Ceremony & Anthology Launch

Whoop to the weekend!

Happy Dance

Leave a comment

Filed under Acceptance, Acknowledging who we are and why we write, Banish self-doubt when you write, Being a professional editor, Being a writer, Believe, Believing, Book Review, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

