Write Away

Here I am with apologies for the lack of posts last week; apart from a cough and cold and swollen glands that have haunted me for a month (everyone seems to have something, right?!) and a bit of foot injury from stepping funny (don’t ask) I have actually had some time off… well kind of as I have still had deadlines for edits and this morning am working on a story I have been commissioned to write! Not liking not being able to go to the gym, give me a kettlebell someone! How much does the cat weigh? Kidding! … no room to swing a cat?!

So here I am at my desk. Last week I looked at all my short stories and subbed 11 to competitions, some old ones and some that had yet to do the rounds. I feel as if I need work out there. I urge you all to do the same.

Next week for World Book Day I will be in a local school talking about stories and so I need to get my skates on and prepare for that. Year 7s get ready! And I have my workshop, poster below. Anyone in Essex who would like to come along then there is a PayPal button on my website or if you’re local then you can arrange to meet to pay for this. I did one like it before and it was really successful, but not one in Essex yet.I try to make it a little different from other workshops I have been to, so writers feel empowered with the tools they need to edit their work. But at the same time, I have been asked if new writers would gain from this and yes…. absolutely! I will be talking about editing, but also how to write a piece with voice, how to plot, what kinds of questions to ask. Writing time, discussion time, and eating time all allowed!

Link:  http://www.debzhobbs-wyatt.co.uk/Pages/Events.aspx

So all I will say is have a fab day and an amazing week and back tomorrow…

workshop

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing workshop Canvey Island

Leave a Reply

