Quieten the Mind

Sometimes my mind is so busy and so full of so many things I wonder if I ever really just stop to be in the moment; to listen to my breathing, to be still. I try. But it seems I am only truly happy when doing many things all at the same time!

This is why I think yoga is so good for me. As we stretch we are made fully aware of how we breathe. It’s quite hard for me to let it all go and at the moment with a work in progress (there will always be a work in progress!) and lots of lovely edits I need to be able to do that.

Yoga is the oldest form of exercise and apart from being just that; an exercise, it is a lifelong process of learning and transformation. The meditation at the end is as important as the stretches and poses and this is when we get to lie still, in the dark and be aware of how we breathe. While quietening the mind is not always easy, in fact it was in the middle of such a moment I came up with an important plot point in Dotty (oops!) I do try to achieve that state.  I think it will help not only with life but with writing. So if you can, take some time out of your busy lives to sit and be fully present in the moment.

Sit still. So last night I sat and listened to the birds singing; what a truly lovely lament. I thought about my breath and for even only a minute relaxing and being grateful for all we have, is a great gift you can give yourself. I urge you to do it today. If you can just sit and listen to your breath; do it for fifteen minutes. Breathe in and out through the  nose. Relax every part of you; tell yourself how grateful you are.

That is all. Have a peaceful Thursday everyone!

 

Peace

 

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

