The Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Since my story Chutney made the short list of the Commonwealth Prize in 2013, I have had the pleasure of being invited to various events; including this year the announcement of the 2015 winner. Last year I took special writer friend Paula Readman and this year I suggested to one of the younger writers in Canvey Writers that it might be a good opportunity for him to do a bit of networking; see something new about the literary world.

So this evening I am, for the third year running off to Marlborough House to hob nob!

I think we need to take these opportunities when they come as you never know who you might meet. This year I am once again also meeting up with last year’s shortlistee the fabulously talented short story writer Tracy Fells and we will be having a bite to eat first.

Some two years after I was shortlisted the story Chutney is now a novel, which is weird and wonderful at the same time 🙂 Of course the novel is still being edited but it is a novel!

I never imagined a short story about three people on an East London allotment growing carrots would lead me to Marlborough House!

So I think the message in there folks is to keep writing! You just never know where the path might take you.

Have a wonderful day and a report on the events tomorrow!

10342463_682949438407808_848395770360758792_n

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

