Setting Goals

I always think everyone thinks in the same way as me but of course that’s not the case. In fact it’s in the differences between the way people think we find life. It’s interesting. I have met a lot of new people since I moved back here and have opened my eyes to different things. The fodder for the writer — right?

But one of the things I really like in people is in being driven; in having goals. There are people who let life happen to them who almost drift along and then there are those willing to sacrifice everything. Then there are those who make those sacrifices but who also manage to keep a balance; enjoy the road. As I always say; if you spend too long looking down you don’t see the journey. By the time you get there it might be too late. So I strive for the latter way of thinking; I am hugely driven by the goal, but also remember that we might only pass this way once — so we mustn’t forget to look.

But having goals, dreams, hopes, aspirations makes life all the more interesting. And deriving pleasure in the simplest things is also important. It’s not always about fast cars or big houses; it’s a walk, time spent reading, listening to birds singing, eating carrot cake 🙂 We must not forget this. But a life with no goals can feel an empty place and so I am grateful I have always felt driven to succeed and be better than I ever imagined I could be. I hope I die with goals yet to be realised because it means I died looking forward and not back.

As I approach my LA trip and work through my stack of novels to edit, I must also get the first chapters of the new novel to my agent before my trip so now I must focus on that. Sometimes we set our own goals and sometimes others help to set the pace. But one thing I know for sure — without those goals we drift. So find your direction today. Make a goal and set the course. You never know how far you’ll get, but you won’t get anywhere if you don’t. What was it Alice said, about the Red Queen: it takes all the running you can do to stay in the same place. Well, maybe it’s time to step off the treadmill and move forwards (the theme as it happens of my new short story that is being subbed now to another competition).

Take opportunities when they come along. Open you eyes. Love the ride.

That is all. Happy Monday. Happy week 🙂

 

life-is-about-moments-create-them-motivational-daily-quotes-sayings-pictures

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

