Hard Work Wins

I know I have said it many times before but the truth is nothing comes without hard work.

Someone I know is having a tremendously difficult time at a prestigious school training her skills as a performer, singing, dancing, acting and it’s almost as if praise isn’t given. She is super talented but there will always be someone better and they are pushed to tremendous limits. Perhaps this is because out there in the real work competition is fierce; if you can’t hack it now you give up. Of course  she will never give up on anything. Nor will I. And nor should you.

Writing is the same. I met with a lovely new client last week to discuss her novel. It’s a novel with real potential but I know that even with a lot of hard work, even making it stronger and better than she might have imagined, does not mean it will be picked up by an agent. And there was no point me saying otherwise. It will stand a much better chance of being picked up by an agent, and it might just be, or it might be the next novel, or the one after that, but there are sadly no guarantees. I pinch myself sometimes I have an agent and it still doesn’t mean my next novel will be the one. But what I do know is that we learn from everything we do. And I WILL NEVER GIVE UP ON ANYTHING. Are you a winner or a quitter? I choose to win.

If I did not push myself at the gym I would not succeed. If I did not push and challenge and stretch myself with my writing I would not achieve. If I did not say I can be better, I never would be.

I love this quote from Maya Angelou that now has pride of place on my wall in front of my desk:

‘If you are always trying to be normal you will never know how amazing you can be.’

That is my message to you for the day. You can always be better than you think you can be.

Have a wonderful Tuesday.

Work Hard

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

