Decide to be happy

My philosophy in life is to be positive.

My choice is to think and see the good side of everything.

My decision is to be happy.

It’s too easy to be consumed in our own sadness, I understand that  and have been there — so I made a decision a long time ago that while sometimes we must give in to it when life throws sad and difficult things our way, for most of us, for most of the time life is good. And we ought to celebrate that.

We can’t control everything and sometimes we think we can’t control anything … but we can control many things. The place to start is deciding to be happy. Make a decision today not to moan about a single thing. You’d be amazed at how often we say negative things. But as soon as you change your mindset great things happen. Trust me. So try it today. Choose happiness.

I moved back to Canvey just over ten months ago and am as happy as I ever was. I knew I would be. I loved my life but I wanted to be near family. Of course I miss friends there and plan to return as often as I can, but I have a great new life here. I have now lost, wait for it, 51 inches plus at the gym all over from my new lifestyle change and one I was determined to make… forever. I feel great. I have also made some wonderful new friends, both at the gym (which is the best gym ever by the way Fitness4Life on Canvey, a small family-run gym who get results and create friendships) and writing friends with Canvey Writers. I also belong to a book club at the library. I have written the first draft of a new novel since I came here.

Life is fragile and you never know what it’s going to throw at you, so you have to embrace it. Look at the news breaking yesterday about Cilla Black’s passing, that shocked a few of us didn’t it. You just don’t know what’s going to happen so choose happiness. Choose to live in a positive way.

What changes will you make today?

Choose Happiness

1 Comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

One response to “Decide to be happy

  1. I’ve been following your blog for a while, it’s a very cheery read first thing in the morning. Today’s really made me think – and smile – and resolve to do those things I’m always putting off. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

