All the pieces find their place

I am close to the end of the first draft of Chutney now when the work really begins, but there is something hugely exciting when you reach this stage. Over 80,000 words in and there’s a sense of excitement in the fingertips; a tingling as I type. I have it in my mind, driving me on.

But there’s part of the process that I find super exciting and I often feel as if magic guides it. I had another of these moments recently as I begin to orchestrate the ending sequences. This is a very much more subtle novel than the other one, much more defined by character. But there were small things my characters have been observing in the square around the allotments; of the people there. But these I have realised are not just part of adding texture; they need function. And they do as I realise some final plot moments hinge on their small but important actions one in particular must take. It’s almost as if I must have sensed that when I started to write these details in — but without knowing it.

I love these moments the best because it is true that every word and every scene has to count, and so often we know it without thinking it and as I try to bring all the pieces together I feel truly blessed to get to do what I love every day.

That is all.

Happy Thursday Folks!

allotment 1

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

