Hidden Talents

It is a real privilege that I get to do what I love every day. It’s a role I have carved out for myself and as I look at the full whiteboard of editing and critiquing jobs I smile, as it never ceases to amaze me that the work keeps rolling. I love what I do and people keep coming back 🙂

I also love best of all that allows me to write every day. The best part. BEST.

And look what happens when you dream…

But I was talking yesterday to a friend about the things we have to learn that go with our role and about a month ago I talked about public speaking and the need for writers to be able to stand up and read. I like it now, but I never used to. In fact I will be reading next month in Norwich when Unthank Books release Unthology 7 that I am thrilled to have a short story in.

I think we all need to take some time out to think about the roles people take.

I go to the gym every weekday morning. I get up early so I can make a 2-hour slot for that; health is so important. And we were talking about public speaking. The lovely Dave Rowe who owns/runs Fitness 4 Life on Canvey Island was talking about public speaking. He is one of those who it comes naturally to although confesses he cannot read aloud, he struggles with that. His son, also working at the gym said it took him a while to be comfortable enough to not only stand in front of a class but to run it.

We take so many things for granted and we shouldn’t. It takes guts to run a fitness class; I would be so out of my comfort zone. It’s about knowing your stuff and then building your confidence and that applies in any walk of life. But what made me think was these fabulous classes that they run with such flair and in creating such a great atmosphere comes with practice too. They told me yesterday about how they had to practise teaching in the spinning classes when they first acquired the spin bikes. They had to be able to articulate clearly what they wanted people to do while cycling full pelt like the rest of us as they do the class too. I was thinking that even now I am puffed out and I do three spin classes a week. Holding a conversation is impossible so doing what they have to do… hats off.

So it got me thinking how we all have talents we have to explore, some come more naturally than others. But the truth is nothing is right without practice, practice, practice.

The same is true of writing and all the many things that go with that.

Look around you and appreciate the things people do in any of their jobs. And do something for me… thank and appreciate at least one person today. Doesn’t matter what it is or who they are; but be nice to a stranger, the girl who brings you coffee in the morning; the man who sells you your paper; the florist, the baker, the street cleaner. Look at what people do to make things nicer for everyone and think about what they had to learn; are still learning. And say, “Thanks for what you do. You’re doing a great job.”

We all have talents; it’s just some are more hidden. And if you like a book; pop a review on Amazon or Goodreads. It makes a writer’s day 🙂

Thanks Dave and Sam and Angie  (and the rest of the team) for what you do to make the gym experience so great.

People matter.

Have a great weekend everyone. Tell me who you thanked today… go on. Make someone’s day.

Go on. Do it

Thank you

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

