What Fools We Are

April the 1st is the day for fools. My lovely grandad passed away on April Fool’s Day many years ago and somehow we all thought he would have liked that.

One of my best friends from infant school has her birthday today.

And in the new novel it’s the day (in 1997) George’s wife finds out she has cancer and it becomes the day of the Chinese doctor and the Cream Egg. Don’t ask.

Dates shape our lives and in researching for the new novel and transporting myself back to 1999 I find myself staring at so many on this days. Lists of world events and people who died on that day.

Using real events from the past is a great device to frame your writing. I have always used these events in stories as they help to shape and connect. They can create a sense of time and beg the reader to ask what was I doing when that happened? So they’re a good device to use in stories.

I hope no one is fooled today.

Have a good one!

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

