Being what you are supposed to be

The message on this slightly grey Friday morning in Essex (although always sunny inside my head!) is do what you love.

Do it everyday.

And don’t give up when someone tells you you can’t.

That is what I say to all my clients. Always follow your dreams, your heart and your instincts.

I know I made the right decision to come here, even though it has not quite been a ‘normal’ week and I am itching to just write and just edit. Next week will be a ‘normal’ week.

When you do what you love it can never be a chore. 

When you do what you love procrastination is no longer a word in your vocabulary.

When you do what you love, it never feels like work, only pleasure.

I never take for granted that I get to do what I love every day. Never.

This week at the Rochester Litfest, it just felt right, like I was meant to be there, because I am being me.

They say it takes about 10,000 hours to be good at something, to learn, to hone those skills. ‘They’ might be right. It does take a lot of work and practice to get there — but what’s wrong with that. Laziness does not make dreams happen.

So what of this week? Well it’s been busy, sometimes insanely busy but I am here in my new life and ready to carry on being me.

What I miss (if I really miss anything in my old life, oddly it has been easier than I thought) are of course my friends (I will always miss them) and I will miss writers’ brunch tomorrow. But networking with other writers at the Southend Book & Arts Show should help deal with some of that.

This is where I’ll be tomorrow talking all things books, writing, editing, publishing and selling and signing copies of While No One Was Watching, so do come down. There is so much going on at the show, check out this link: Southend Book & Arts

I will also be gathering names and emails for anyone interested in Canvey Writers the group I plan to set up in the new year! So hope to see some of you there!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Poster for Southend Fair

 

Leave a comment

Filed under being a successful writer, Blogging, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

