Meeting the lovely people…

I know some writers who tell me they’d hate to do what I’ve been doing these last few weeks. Standing in bookstores armed with bookmarks and telling them how I’m signing in store and come have a look at my book.

Well you know, promotion like this is just one of the ways to get your work noticed. It’s baby steps. You’re making only a small dent in book sales, I know that. You can stand in store talking to everyone and really working it, for hours on end and sell just six copies. But that’s six more people who know who you are and more importantly who will read your book, not to mention the ones who they’ll pass the book onto and those who say they prefer Kindle and will download it. And since I give out a lot of bookmarks, and yes many will end up in the bin, some  I hope will buy the book later. It is hard work but I like people. And our  readers matter, so you have to do it. And you might as well enjoy it, right? It is what I always wanted to be and it goes with the job.

It’s amazing how tiring it is spending four hours or more standing and talking! But I realise that while the blurb sells the book in terms of if it’s their kind of thing, people buy into people. So yes I am annoyingly happy all the time and yes always smiling and no that’s not fake, that’s just me, my sociable approach must count. Or I hope it does. I am certain the way I approach people and really just chat to them, means if they like me, they are more likely to go and pick up my book to read the blurb and perhaps buy it.

It’s been a busy but great few weeks. Yes it means having no day off and I can feel the tiredness seeping in, but it’s so worth it. I have my final two Saturdays in Bangor back to normal, meeting writing friends etc and then once I move, and as we head closer to Christmas (yes I did use the C word!) I will be putting together a signing tour in that part of the world, so if you think your local bookshop might be worth including, preferably south-east or close, let me know! I am going to make a list of places soon and start approaching them. I figure a signed novel is an interesting and different Christmas present, right? So many books will be bought online and that’s fine but something unique about it being signed by the author. Remember I also have signed copies I can personalise on my website (sadly I do have to include the £3 postage) but I will have it an offer price of £10 with p&p in the run-up to Christmas, so if I am too far to make it to your local bookshop, please do message me or watch my website as I will be able to send a signed one.

Yes these are baby steps, but how else will people know about my book.

And that’s why reviews count so if you have read my novel please do post reviews on blogs and Amazon or Goodreads etc (if you liked it!) and it all helps!

Right. Might be bank holiday for some here in the UK, but for me, business as usual.

Have a great day everyone!

Signing in LlandudnoSigning in WHSmith, Llandudno, Saturday August 23rd 2014

 

2 Comments

Filed under 50th anniversary of Kennedy Assassination, a book deal, Acceptance, Acknowledging who we are and why we write, being a successful writer, Being a writer, Believe, Believing, Blogging, Blurring the lines between fact and fiction, Book Launch, Book Signing, Book Tour, Dreamers never disappear, Dreaming, ebooks, finally being signed, Indentity, JFK50, John F Kennedy, Kennedy, Kennedy Assassination, Kindle, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Parthian Books, Passion for books, Passion for life, Passion for writing, Psychological Thriller, Publishing, Reading, Real events that inspire fiction, While No One Was Watching, Winning, Writing

2 responses to “Meeting the lovely people…

  1. I agree with you, it’s hard work, but as a modern day writer we have to do it and smiling while doing it. If you want to write you have to learn to market your work because no one else will do it for you. Maybe I shouldn’t say this, but I think this is another reason why ‘some’ writers chose to self-publish because they feel it is easier to do it all online. They buy into the fact that they can sit at their keyboard and write, publish and sell their work without moving from that one spot, but in reality book readers are mobile. Us writers need to understand our customers (some of us do already). Readers hunt out their next book in all sort of places, online, word of mouth, bookshops, second-hand from car boot, charity shops etc, libraries and millions of other places too. Sitting in one places and expecting them to find you doesn’t work. When my novel is published I shall do everything I can think of and not even thought of yet, to spread the word. Sitting in one place wont be an option for me. Great work, Debz.

    • Thanks Paula and good points. Although we mustn’t forget there are also huge numbers of self-published writers who do exactly the same and sit for hours in bookshops and book fairs trying to get their work noticed. Just as there are those published with mainstream big publishers who don’t like doing any of that and make rare infrequent visits to stores to sign. We all have to do what works for us but the persona of ‘the writer’ and meeting the reader, can not be negated as these are the audience you write for! So I do see it as all part of the job! And I know how hard you will work to get your work seen! You understand the importance of those baby steps before you can fly! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

