Being Well Known Enough…

As a newly published debut novelist (albeit after several publishing successes with short stories), published by a respectable, but never the less small press, and even those published by the bigger presses, we all have to get our work and our name our there and that means a lot of doing it yourself. The sad fact is, even authors with agents and big publishers are often confined to the mid lists. They might have a good following and write full-time, but being a household name is something more elusive.

Talking to a successful novelist friend last night who is writing full-time and doing very well with his self-published crime series (he did have an agent for a while) a lot of his success is measured a lot in how much time he can give over to marketing. In fact he now pays for someone to do that for him. So how much of getting known comes from how much time and money can be invested in getting your name out there? And how much is purely based on the quality of the books?

I would like to be able to say how talent speaks for itself, and if you write well it doesn’t matter, but you can’t find fans if they don’t know you exist — right? He is a good writer by the way, but his background in marketing and business also helps!

I don’t write for fame or money but I do write for success, measured in how many people read and appreciate my work. I, like all writers, still have much to learn, but have also learned so much on this journey so far. While I don’t seek fame I do hope my work is recognised and awarded even and for that I will strive to always write the best I am capable of. And to do what I love doing every day is indeed an honour for which I am profoundly grateful — every single day. TRULY.

But even when you don’t seek fame as such, for your books but not you, maybe, it still involves a lot of self-promotion and contacting bookshops to arrange signings etc. In fact one of the large bookshop chains would not have me in one of their bigger flagship stores because I am not well known enough. I did so want to say a rude thing to that. Like weren’t all the successful authors once unknown? I guess I know which stores to decline when I am well known enough to draw a crowd. Flippancy aside, they have their reasons, they might just learn how to express themselves with a little more tact if they want an ongoing relationship with those they turned down who might just be the next BIG THING.

Luckily many stores have said yes and I will be signing, even if as the debut unknown I have to hand out bookmarks and smile a lot to get noticed. But I love it! I do. I love everything about this writerly life of mine. And while I wish I could afford to pay someone to market me more and get While No One Was Watching to a larger audience, I also have to focus on the writing and believe in that.

While it might be naive to hope if you write well you will get noticed anyway, there will always be a little naivety, like there has always been — that I will win big awards for my novels, that movies will be made … the same touch of naivety that got me this far — so I think I will hold onto it.

Dreamers Never Disappear. So don’t you.

Believe 2

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under a book deal, Acceptance, Acknowledging who we are and why we write, being a successful writer, Believe, Believing, Blogging, Book Launch, Book Launches, Book Signing, Dreamers never disappear, Dreaming, ebooks, finally being signed, Find a Publisher, Find an Agent, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, making money from writing, Novel writing, Pace, Page turnability, Parthian Books, Passion for books, Passion for life, Passion for writing, Pitch your Book, Publishing, Reading, Self actualisaion, Self Promotion as a writer, Succeeding, Success, Success is not about money, While No One Was Watching, Why we write, Winning, Writing, Writing and marketing your books

One response to “Being Well Known Enough…

  1. Ah, Debz, I am feeling the same frustration at the moment! I want to give over my limited spare time to writing, but I also want to market my published novels, and I just can’t fit it all in around the children! One thing is for certain: we will see each other on the bestseller lists one day, and maybe even share space at one of the big festivals… who knows? Anything is possible!

Leave a Reply

