Getting into Character

I find myself this week back in the Tenderloin district of San Francisco and then climbing the dizzying heights of Pacific Heights and down to Pier 39. Contrasting neighbourhoods. No I have not jetted off to the states again (more’s the pity) but am back in the minds of Frank and Richard in the next novel. It’s already had a fair polish but needs some overhauling and the ending is in my head but not on a page. So here I am back there. What these characters are telling me is I know Frank’s voice really well (ex con, hard but soft) and Rich is more of a challenge as he is a bit of a bumbling prof recovering from a mental breakdown.

So for me to be suddenly back with these guys feels like a real treat. I have done a lot of work on this one but now I think it’s time to get to sorted. It’s pacey and psychological this one, darker too.

Because I’ve been to San Francisco a few times, one in particular on a fact-finding mission for this book, I feel more comfortable than perhaps I Am Wolf where I have never been to Alaska or Moscow. One of things we did in San Francisco five years ago (see I said I had been working on this for a while) was walk in Golden Gate Park, ride the amazing carousel that is in the novel and wonder where a body might be found near the carousel. Yep really. But what you can’t capture from Google earth are smells and the feel of the place. So I also had my notebook and asked what scents I could pick up on — get a feel for the place in the early morning. What I love about San Francisco is the fog, very atmospheric, right?

So I must leave you now to get back into character. While Frank has his issues — and so does Rich although I think your sympathies are with him from the get-go, Frank is the likeable rogue  and so I hope all of that comes across. Well — I will have to make sure it does. Being a writer is like being a character actor.

 

AlcatrazIsland

Have a great Wednesday, y’all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Acknowledging who we are and why we write, being a successful writer, Believe, Believing, Blogging, Change as a function of character, Character Arc, Character development, Creating fictional worlds, credibility, Crime Writing, Dreamers never disappear, Dreaming, Editing, Endings, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Pace, Page turnability, Passion for books, Passion for life, Passion for writing, Psychological Thriller, Publishing, Reach your potential, Reading, Real events that inspire fiction, Sense of place, Setting, Success, Success is not about money, The Publishing Priocess, The Secret, The Writer's Imagination, Theme, time to think, Tone, Truth in Fiction, Winning, Write What You Know, Writing, Writing a Psychological Thriller

Leave a Reply

