Inspiring the children

Well I’m back after a week at the folks and a week off blogging. Hope everyone is doing okay!

As you all know I am a great banner waver for the short story form and between novel edits have recently written a couple more shorts and have a new idea buzzing although am keen to get down to the next novel. I daresay it will find its outlet at some point soon.

And as some of you also know I have my own little press, Paws n Claws. I had the pleasure yesterday of announcing the young winners for the next Wild n Free book, Wild n Free Forever! What talent there is. I spoke with Tv’s Michaela Strachan a week or two back to discuss her choices and she was literally bowled over by the standard of our young writers. I am so proud of them all.

Here’s the list of names and the judges’ comments: WINNERS

I also heard some of the winning stories from the Hay 500 words competition on Friday. I have said it before but with so much bad press with regards to literacy in children I am so pleased to see what talent is out there and we need to make sure it’s nurtured. I started writing young and won a children’s writing competition (an animal one!) when I was ten. The seeds are there when we’re young, and need to be encouraged. I can’t wait to meet the children at the next Wild n Free launch in December!

And I was also thrilled when Virginia McKenna asked if my little press would also publish the winning poems if they put together a similar competition for young poets! The deadline is now extended until July 14th and that book will also be published in November — it’s going to be a busy time!

So we need children to write us animal poems! Please do share this! Here is the link: GO WILD POETRY COMPETITION

Thanks everyone! Support greatly appreciated!

Born Free Foundation

Read the PAWS newsletter that went out yesterday here: NEWSLETTER

Leave a comment

Filed under Animals, being a successful writer, Being a writer, Believe, Believing, Blogging, Book Launch, Book Launches, Born Free Foundation, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Novel writing, Passion for books, Passion for life, Passion for writing, Paws Animal Writing Competition for Children, Paws n Claws Publishing, Publishing, Reading, Virginia McKenna, Writing

Leave a Reply

