Cursory Flashes

Well  I am Wolf has now gone off to my agent to see if she wants to go with this one next and I am in that place between. I am raring to get on with the next edit of Isle of Pelicans but am also itching to get down a new short story so that’s my mission for the week.

To some, the blank screen and the flashing cursor incites great horror, but I get really excited! Lots of ideas are bubbling and a new voice, a teenage girl is talking to me, so looking forward to getting to know who she is! Welcome to the madness. Love it!

There is so much to look forward to this year.

Talking of  voices ( I was, wasn’t I?) I just finished reading Nathan Filer’s The Shock of the Fall, the book that won this year’s Costa Book Prize. This is just the kind of interesting writing I love. Narrated by a young man with mental health issues and also as himself as child, the voice is so interesting. And the mystery that beats at the heart of it really pulls you through. Very compelling. I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it yet!

Think that’s it as I need to find out who this voice is whose talking to me!

Flashing Cursor

 

New pages, flashing cursors and the voices. Give into the madness.Welcome to Monday …

2 Comments

Filed under being a successful writer, Flashing Cursors, Learning to be a writer, Living the dream, Novel writing, Passion for writing, Publishing, Reading, Writing

2 responses to “Cursory Flashes

  1. Have a good writing week Debz:)

  2. I also just read this book, finished yesterday. A refreshing new style of writing I love. Couldn’t put it down. Definitely have more understanding for people with mental health problems.

Leave a Reply

