Supporting the local bookshop

Well last night I was at a lovely new bookshop in Conwy called Hinton’s! They have a lovely space downstairs, perfect for readings, Q & A and signings as I did last night. And what a lovely welcome I had. I meant to get someone to take photos but sadly got caught up in it all so never did.

We had a small gathering and so, much like the library event last week, talked about  my journey, the inspiration for writing the novel, voice, connection and so on. I read some pieces and then asked a few questions. It was all very well received I think.

It still feels odd to be sat there upfront and slightly strange as if about to make a performance which I guess in a way I am. But what strikes me is I have no nerves. I guess these are my characters and this is the story I want to show the world, so why would I be nervous and with 19 five-star reviews now at least it seems most people are loving it! HUGE phew there then!

So settling down to write and finish a manuscript appraisal today before the Bangor Cellar Writing Group’s annual Christmas dinner tonight.

I do have some photos of the library to share soon as well as the launch, just not around to sorting them yet!

Also writerly friends, you may have seen I am doing an advent calendar of stories on CafeLit and as we draw nearer to Christmas I need more stories, flash pieces of about 100 words please? I assign them all a gift or attribute as well, like magic, surprise, excess etc so think about that as well.

Here’s the link:  http://www.cafelit.co.uk/

Cute cockers

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 100-Word Challenge, 50th Anniversary Kennedy Assassination, 50th anniversary of Kennedy Assassination, a book deal, Being a professional editor, being a successful writer, Being a writer, Believing, Blogging, Book Signing, finally being signed, I Have A Dream ..., ideas, In the Spotlight, Indentity, JFK50, John F Kennedy, Kennedy, Kennedy Assassination, Living the dream, Parthian Books, Passion for books, Passion for life, While No One Was Watching, Winning, Writing

Leave a Reply

