On the outside looking in …

There was a sense of detachment as I walked this morning; of being connected to everything and nothing at the same time. Of looking in on myself.

It’s a still September morning and a mist scarfed the mountains of Snowdonia. I could hear every footstep as I walked along the lane, every voice carried in the cool air, every car somewhere on the top road.

And I could hear the soft  jangle of Rosie’s lead as we walked. Me and my little dog.

And as if all sound dropped I had this thought — what if I am the only person left in the world? Imagine if no one else is here. If I open my eyes and everything I know is gone.

I have these odd thoughts and lately a few have come, all dully noted in my book. I am running my workshop on How to Write A Psychological Thriller in November, and in much the same way a new story will percolate, drip slowly into being while I’m not thinking about it, so the ideas that will form the basis of this workshop will do the same. I am setting an exercise and so these scenarios are all part of that. All to be explained later.

But as I rounded the corner of the lane, in the odd but beautiful silence, I knew what was missing from the new scene I’m writing for I Am Wolf when our protagonist goes back to the village north of Moscow where the feral child was found; now nothing more than a ghost town, every person long left for the city — something that happened a lot in Russia in the 90s. I need this same sense of peace and disquiet. That is how I imagine such a place would feel.

Even in the peace, we find answers.

And I will leave you with that thought.

My Country Garden ... looks like it just happened.

Home

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Acceptance, being a successful writer, Believing, Blogging, Dreaming, ideas, Indentity, Living the dream, Mainstream Fiction, Mentoring, Novel writing, Passion for books, Passion for life, Passion for writing, Psychological Thriller, Sense of place, Setting, Winning, Writing, Writing a Psychological Thriller

Leave a Reply

